Being Certified

Our team of professionals has earned some of the most recognizable credentials in the financial planning and investment management industries. We stay abreast of trends and developments with ongoing continuing education. Johnson Bixby is committed to life-long learning and the continual enhancement of our skills in order to better serve you, our valued clients.


A CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ is an essential key to your financial future. At JBA, our financial planners are certified. That means they’ve gone through rigorous and ongoing training. Not that we’re over-achievers or anything (wink), but all our planners exceed the minimum of 30 hours of continuing education every two years to maintain certification. We’re lifelong learners, and we love this stuff.

You’ll find our recommendations to be objective, current, accurate, and customized.

Our financial planners are certified through the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. (CFP Board).

Our CFP® Professionals meet the following standards:

  • Education – CFP® professionals must earn a bachelor’s degree and complete a comprehensive financial planning curriculum approved by the CFP Board in the areas of investment, insurance, taxes, retirement and estate planning.
  • Examination – All CFP® professionals must successfully complete the CFP Board’s comprehensive two-day, 10-hour CFP® Certification Examination.
  • Experience – CFP® professionals are required to have a minimum of three years of financial planning experience prior to using the CFP® mark.
  • Ethics – CFP® professionals must pass an ethics review and agree to abide by the CFP Board’s Planning Practice Standards and a strict code of professional conduct.

Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards Inc. owns the certification marks CFP®, CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, CFP® (with plaque design) and CFP® (with flame design) in the U.S., which it awards to individuals who successfully complete CFP Board’s initial and ongoing certification requirements.

Read More


The Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA®) credential is the globally recognized mark of distinction and benchmark for measuring the expertise, experience, and ethics of serious investment professionals. The CFA charter demonstrates mastery of a broad range of practical portfolio management and advanced investment analysis skills. To earn the CFA charter, candidates must pass three sequential, six-hour examinations (eighteen hours in total) over a period of two to four years.

Our investment strategist has earned the right to use the Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA®) designation, and is a member in good standing with the CFA Institute.

Our CFA Charterholder meets the following standards:

  • Strict Code of Ethics and Professional Standards – A charterholder not only has strong technical knowledge, but is held to the highest ethical standards set forth by the CFA Institute.
  • Experience and Education – A charterholder must have both four years of professional work experience in the investment decision-making process and have a bachelor’s (or equivalent) degree.
  • Breadth of Knowledge and Expertise – A charterholder must successfully pass three levels of examinations in the topic areas of investment tools, asset valuation, and portfolio management.

CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.

Read More


The CLTC designation is a professional mark earned by a person who offers advice regarding long term care services. Long-term care insurance is a complex product. It offers many forms of protection and pricing structures. A CLTC professional is highly trained in the field of long-term care and knows the right questions to ask. Their goal, like all professionals, is to help you solve your needs. The Corporation for Certification in Long-Term Care (CCLTC) is the sole recognized entity to conduct certification in this specialty. The program is recognized by state insurance regulators, NAIFA (National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors), and the American College of Financial Services.

Our CLTC Designee meets the following standards:

  • Education – Continuing education is required to stay current on trends, legislation, and introduction of new products.
  • Examination – The holder of the CLTC designation has successfully passed a rigorous comprehensive certification exam given by the Corporation for Certification in Long Term Care and designation renewal is required every two years.
Read More


An Enrolled Agent (EA) is a federally-licensed tax professional who specializes in taxation and has unlimited rights to represent taxpayers before the Internal Revenue Service. Enrolled Agents have demonstrated technical expertise in taxation and IRS practices & procedures. To earn the Enrolled Agent designation, candidates must pass a comprehensive examination covering Federal taxation and IRS representation, practices & procedures or through experience as an IRS employee. They must also pass a tax compliance check to ensure they have filed all necessary tax returns and paid all tax liabilities.

Our Tax Professionals have earned the privilege of using the Enrolled Agent designation and meet the following standards:

  • Education – The IRS requires Enrolled Agents to complete 72 hours of continuing education on Federal tax topics every three years to maintain their licenses.
  • Ethics – Enrolled Agents must adhere to US Treasury Department Circular No. 230, which governs practice before the Internal Revenue Service. Also, Enrolled Agents are required to obtain continuing education credits in Ethics every year.
Read More


The Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC®) designation has been a mark of excellence for financial planners for almost thirty years. To hold the ChFC® designation, one must complete a minimum of 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years, adhere to strict ethical standards, and meet experience requirements.

Our Chartered Financial Consultant® meets the following standards:

  • Examination – ChFC® professionals must successfully complete nine college-level courses on all aspects of financial planning. The curriculum covers extensive education and application training in all aspects of financial planning, income taxation, investments, and estate and retirement planning.
  • Experience – ChFC® professionals are required to have a minimum of three years of relevant business experience prior to using the ChFC® mark.
  • Ethics – ChFC® professionals must adhere to The American College’s Code of Ethics, which includes the following professional pledge: “I shall, in light of all conditions surrounding those I serve, which I shall make every conscientious effort to ascertain and understand, render that service which, in the same circumstances, I would apply to myself.”

ChFC® is the property of The American College, which reserves sole rights to its use, and is used by permission.

Read More


Individuals who hold the Registered Paraplannersm (RP®) designation have completed a year-long course of study encompassing the financial planning process, the five disciplines of financial planning, general financial planning concepts & terminology and product categories. Additionally, individuals must pass an end-of-course examination that tests their ability to synthesize complex concepts and apply theoretical concepts to real-life situations.

Our RP® Professionals meet the following standards:

  • Education – Designees renew their RP® mark every two-years by completing 16 hours of continuing education.
  • Adherence to Standards – All designees have agreed to adhere to Standards of Professional Conduct as outlined by the College for Financial Planning, and must reaffirm compliance biannually.

Registered Paraplannersm and RP® are trademarks or registered service marks of the College for Financial Planning in the United States and/or other countries.

Read More